[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

weekend redux

2003-02-20 - 12:36 a.m.

Wow, a week without updates. I've been busy, I guess. I spent most of the weekend hanging out with my gf, though I did make it out to a housewarming party and a protest. And on Monday, my new toy finally arrived (a working version of it, that is), so I've been busy with it ever since.

The protest went well. I think there were even more people there than before, although it's hard to tell with these things. I got there a bit late, met up with Russell (which was surprisingly easy in a crowd of tens of thousands), and we walked for a little over two hours, from Embarcadero to Civic Center Plaza. The signs were mostly the same, with the addition of many duct-tape themed signs. There was also more active counter-protesting, most notable of those being a plane flying signs like "iraqis want a democracy" and "... protests betray ..." [I didn't read it all]. The latter attitude never ceases to amaze me; how can this attitude prevail in "the oldest current continuous democracy"? But it's ahrd to be discouraged when you're part of an event that included over 6 million people worldwide over the weekend.

I'm hoping tomorrow I can get back to doing real work, though I'm staying in San Francisco tonight, which means that I won't get into the office until later. Especially if my sleep pattern of staying up until 3am keeps up.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25