[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

adventure! excitement!

2003-02-23 - 11:24 p.m.

Well, during the week I don't have as much to write about, and on the weekend I'm too busy to write. Well, this weekend more than others. I've had a busy time -- touring San Francisco, going to an art museum, and getting engaged!

Yes, once again, I am engaged. I went to a party Friday, and my friend (now fiancee) P proposed to me. Well, perhaps I should provide a few more details. I was complaining about how I always feel bad about leaving Las Vegas unmarried (it just feels wrong), and conversation moved on to my dream Vegas wedding. Long ago, I decided what that would be. Sure, there's the traditional wedding, performed by an Elvis impersonator, but I wanted something better. What about getting married by ... William Shatner! Now, how could you top that! (insert your best impersonation of him saying "do you... take this woman! .. to be your lawfully wedded ... wife" here).

Now, my gf is less than supportive of this dream. I think she is just missing some true understanding of how cool such a wedding would be. (When I first explained my dream to her, she responded with "Who's William Shatner?" Eventually, she said: "oh, is he that Rescue 911 guy?") But my friend P said: "If you can get William Shatner to officiate, *I* would marry you." Of course, I took this as a proposal (and so did she; she was excited about telling everyone she's engaged now.) So my task now is to figure out how to arrange this wedding to happen. I have a feeling that there is some chance that he would do it (I mean, if there's ever a man that understands that his life is a joke, it's old Bill; see Free Enterprise if you don't believe me.) But I'm guessing, being an international celeberity, he won't come cheap, even if I only need him for a short amount of time. So the question is now, how much would you pay to see this wedding take place? Time is running out; my fiancee is leaving the country sometime around June, so write now with your pledge!

Yes, that was a good party. Even if it weren't for the engagement, it was the best party I've been to in a while. So good that I didn't get home until 4 a.m. Which made for an interesting time trying to get up Saturday morning to show my visiting friend around San Francisco. But I made it; I've just been very tired this whole weekend.


Now reading: The Official Shatner Website. I need to start reading real books again.

leave a comment

shar van egmond - 2003-02-24 08:30:16
You PINHEAD! I got all excited and squealed to my officemate that one of my best friends was engaged and I was all happy and was digging out my cell phone to call and congratulate and try to worm my way into the wedding party. Sheesh. Oh all right, I admit that I of all people should have known better than to take that one at face value, but I was all primed by the Adventure! Excitement! title. Anyway, leaving all that aside, I must admit that that sounds pretty cool. I'm in for $150. And I still want to be kept in mind for minion duty!
lenore - 2003-02-25 01:34:57
...i bet william shatner will do it for free now that george w is stealing all his ratings...then again, i'm sure shatner's rescue 9-1-1 resume could land him some cushy jobs these days...

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25