[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

movie madness

2003-02-26 - 11:18 p.m.

I spent most of tonight making a movie. My gf is taking a film class, and she needed to make a 3-minute short. Well, turns out that to make a 3-minute movie it takes about 5 hours worth of work. We spent a while setting up the shots, worrying about the lighting, rehearsing the timing and cutting down the script, etc. And since there was no editing, we really only produced 3 minutes of footage [one roll of film]. I just hope it turns out; the light metering in the camera suggested it might have been too dark to film anything. We don't find out for a little over a week how it turned out. Blasted analog technology.

I had a productive meeting with my advisor today. It's still unclear whether my current project will be my Ph.D., but there's definitely hope. This is one of these things where having an advisor is really helpful. Not that it's not helpful to have one other times... but some of my past projects have been pretty successfully completed with minimal input from him. But this whole Ph.D. thing, I would be lost without him.

A few months ago, I stupidly scheduled a dentist appointment for 8am tomorrow. This is going to hurt. I always have this trouble scheduling appointments, since when they suggest an unreasonably early time for one, I feel bad about asking for a later one. I mean, there's no reason I can't make the 8am time, I'd just much rather be asleep then. But I guess I'll have to be asleep now instead, at an hearly hour of 11:30.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25