[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

other people's optimisim

2003-02-11 - 11:25 p.m.

I had a meeting with my advisor today (finally). We talked about my current project, and whether/how it could lead to a Ph.D. His attitude was more optimistic than mine; he suggested that I might be able to take quals this semester. I hope he's right, but like I said, I'm less optimistic. In either case, I'm making forward progress again, which is the important part.

Reading Ralph Nader's book made me think more about third-party elections. I wonder what effect the last election will have on this one. My fear is that more people who had voted Green will be lured back to the Democrats out of fear of 4 more years of Bush. I do admire what Nader was trying to do, but it's unclear that his strategy can effect much political change. I'm not sure what can.

Tomorrow I start on my triple therapy to cure H. pylori (an ulcer-causing bacterium). It's 4 pills, twice a day, including enough antibiotics to make the pharmacist suggest that I eat "cultured yougurt." I hope it will be easy to distinguish it from the uncultured ones (?) in the grocery store. But at least it's only 2 weeks. It's funny, I went to the university health center earlier this week because I've been having knee pains, and ended up seeing the same clinician who was overseeing my ulcer treatment. And she's not even a doctor! I dream of the day when I have real health coverage again...


Now reading: Toby's Political Diary. I found it accidentally; it was the top link on a google search that caused somebody to come to my webpage.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25