[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

Sunday morning hike

2003-02-10 - 9:21 a.m.

Well, no dancing happened on Saturday night either. Instead, I cued up some music on my stereo and spent the evening hacking away. It sounds kind of pathetic, but I actually had a good time. It was also easier to drag myself out of bed for the Sunday morning hike (not that it was easy). We went to Wildcat Canyon Park and hiked for about 6 miles total, up to the top of the hills, with great vistas of the bay area (we could see SF, two bridges, two mountains, and lots of cows). It was a nice early spring hike, especially since it happened in early February.

The afternoon was spent at a birthday BBQ at a house in the Oakland hills, from where we could see the sun setting into the bay through some redwood-like trees. And the occasional hummingbirds. I was a little worried about what to eat, and finally settled on some veggie burgers. Turns out that the attendance was predominantly vegetarian, and people improvised with grilling mushrooms and onions; veggie hot dogs were also a popular item.

I turned off the heat when I left the house yesterday, and I forgot to turn it back on when I got home. This morning I woke up positively freezing. I mean, you can't complain that it gets down to about 40F (5C) at night in February, but you *can* complain when your bedroom is at that temperature. I'm now impatiently waiting for the heater to return the house to a civilized state. Brr.


Now reading: Crashing the Party, by Ralph Nader.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25