[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

too much TV

2003-02-08 - 11:02 a.m.

I was supposed to go dancing last night. Nick Warren was in town with a CD release party; it would have been cool. But I just stayed home watching TV instead. Too much TV, in fact -- my TiVo had recorded a lot of stuff during the week and I was playing catchup. And I could feel the deadening effect on my brain; eventually I had to turn it off and do some reading just to counteract it.

Half the reason that I didn't go was that I couldn't find anyone to come with me. But, really, I didn't try very hard. I think I was in low spirits, for whatever reason. Maybe it was latent frustration about my new toy purchase going completely awry. Instead of buying from a reputable source, I bought from a seller through half.com, and after a long wait for their "authorization/confirmation/shipping" delays, I finally got it, but without a battery. And now they're saying I can't even contact the person who sent it to me to complain until Monday. Anyway, for whatever reason, I just wasn't feeling up to it.

But now I'm feeling frustrated about how this seems to happen reliably -- a cool DJ comes into town and I make grandiose plans to see them, and they always fizzle. Perhaps I can drag myself, and maybe even someone else, to a rave tonight, to make up for it. In any case, at least Sunday will be fun: my friend is having a birthday hike/BBQ.

My goal for today, I decided, is to clean my room. I won't mention that I had said that in weekends past, since that would sound too cynical.


Now reading: Crashing the Party, by Ralph Nader.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25