[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

social responsibility

2003-02-07 - 1:03 a.m.

We had the pleasure of hosting our weekly social gathering today. Actually, right after we offered to host, several others emailed me telling me they were minutes away from doing the same. This is an interesting change from last week, where we had to go to dinner and then strongarm someone into offering up their apartment. I guess this failure inspired a wave of "social responsibility," in a different sence of social.

Anyway, we had a good time, hanging out and just chatting. The conversation seemed to revolve around breasts and patents (ok, mostly patents) most of the night. I was curious to remark that when my gf arrived, she went into a corner to talk to someone one-on-one, about things like wedding preparation details (not hers), etc. In the meantime, I was engaged in a more general discussion with the rest of the room about patents. And it really felt like we were both in our element -- me discussing these generalized topics, abstract, and probably not of immediate relevance, while she was talking one-on-one about something much more personal. I think this is why she has an easier time maintaining personal relationships. I think that many of the close friends I do have stay close because we enjoy talking about the same abstract concepts, rather than taking an active interest in each others' personal life.

That's all the thoughts I have for tonight. To quote a blockbuster ad, it's late, and I'm tired.


Now reading: Crashing the Party, by Ralph Nader.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25