[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

work, play, and baby diapers

2003-01-31 - 1:06 a.m.

I haven't done much work the last two days; both days I got into the office late and left early. Yesterday I had to go pick up my gf's car from the garage. And today I had to leave to have dinner and hang out with my friends. But I'm feeling more excited about my work, or the possibility of doing it, I guess. That's got to be a good sign, I guess. Now if I can only sort out my payment issue. I think my contract expired sometime this month and I need to figure out how to get the funding in order to renew it. I think I have a more coherent direction now, so maybe it will help. Mainly, I need to track down my advisor, but it looks like he's been trying to track me down, so hopefully we will succeed soon.

I've been watching probably too much TV lately. I was watching Buffy yesterday, and I saw a weird series of commercials: playstation games, diet products, shopping, hair colour -- your typical ads directed at the teenage audience -- and ads for baby diapers?!? And it wasn't just one, it was several, for different brands. Makes no sense to me. Reminds me of an article I read about how online advertising promised to give much better feedback as to its effectiveness, as you can track who went to your site based on which ad, and even whether they decided to buy something or not. In contrast, it argued, TV and print advertising lacked any tangible response and became an art akin to waving dead chickens.

I've been starting to long for a motorcycle ride. Once again my head turns every time a biker passes by, wishing that was me. And that could be me for the low low price of getting my bike insured. But I decided that insurance, like everything else, must wait until I figure out whether I'm getting paid at all for this month or not. And once again the rain that they promised for this weekend earlier in the week seems to have vanished from the forecast. I know, I know, it's a hard life.


Now reading: Downsize This! Random Threats from an Unarmed American, by Michael Moore.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25