[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

weekend adventure, or why I miss having a car

2003-01-26 - 5:33 p.m.

I've been meaning to write in here for a while, and have these half-finished entries on my computer and in my head. But anyway. My plan for this weekend included two things: a bike ride, and go to a rave. Well, in the end, I didn't get my bike insured before this weekend, so it was only the rave. I tried to get a few people to come out, but in the end, it was only my gf and Russell. It seems that everyone else needed to get up early the next day -- come on, it's Sunday!

The rave itself was a bit of an adventure. We went down to the Haight to get the tickets, and hoping to shop for some cool clothes. My gf found a nice poncho/shawl; I saw a couple of interesting T-shirts but nothing that really appealed to me, and after a couple of hours, I had reached my threshold for shopping. I had to stop by my house, so we headed to East Bay, all the while checking the info line (which was supposed to have stuff at 7pm). Finally, at 9, they promised to post directions in 20 minutes. When we heard nothing by 10, we decided to get dinner (Sushi), and by 11, we were almost ready to just take BART (we are carless this week) to San Francisco and hope that the directions would be posted by the time we cross the bay. Fortunately, at that time they updated the voicemail and told us to go to Emeryville instead. Phew!

We had to find this extended stay hotel, and then go through the back entrance and walk up to some room to get further directions. It all sounded complicated; thankfully, we weren't the only ones trying to find it. We arrived at the same time as these two guys, so after getting directions, I asked them to give us a ride from the map point to the actual party. They were quite friendly, and even said goodbye to us when we were leaving.

The rave was pretty well set up; it wasn't as massive as I had imagined, but it did have about 3.5 rooms of music (the chill room was barely a room), nice couches, great visual designs. So you had a choice of what you wanted to dance to. We were all pretty tired, but once I started moving my feet, I got a wave of energy, and I haven't felt this good about dancing in a long time. You know, when you feel the music flowing through your body and you feel light all over as you bounce and reach up to the sky, as if nothing else matters?

Unfortunately, my companions didn't have as good a time -- Russell didn't like the music much, and Lenore was too tired to dance much. So finally left around 3am, earlier than I would have liked, but someone once told me that it's better to leave a place while you're still having fun.

What was not fun was the trip home. We had to wait for a night bus, that goes hourly. We ended up waiting about 35 minutes, tired of standing, but afraid to sit on the bench. We weren't in the best part of Oakland; at some point some idiot driving by decided it would be funny to swerve towards the curb where we were sitting and give us a scare. But all bad things must come to an end, and we eventually made it home a little after 4.

So overall, it was a success; I had a really nice time, even though it was too short. Perhaps I'll be more inspired to go dancing again in the near future, too. (Perhaps we'll also have some transportation, then.) The main downside is that I've been feeling pretty tired all day today, but hey, I don't think it's that heinous to write off Sunday as a day of rest -- after all, that's what the Christians do.


Now reading: Marijuana Myths, Marijuana Facts, by Lynn Zimmer, John P. Morgan. Excellent book to read after reading the DEA website.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25