[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

another day indeed

2003-01-23 - 1:17 p.m.

Ok, I think I was feeling too cynical last time; I am definitely feeling better today. Not that I've found any interesting Ph.D.-level research problems, but I have more confidence now that they're out there. I did find some interesting problems, but most of them have to do with breaking existing systems, which I think is easier than designing new ones. I do still believe it's a valuable effort to do the breaking, although from past experience I know that not everyone immediately feels that way.

I'm still not used to working full-time, so to speak, after my extended break, and really the past many months of showing up at work for a few hours a day at best. I was sitting in my office yesterday and I had this tired feeling come over me, and my first thought was: "Ok, I've worked for a bit, time to take a break." And then I looked up at the clock, and I had only been at work for a little over two hours! So it's going to take some getting used to.

I'm looking around at getting my motorcycle insured again. After deciding to be "grounded" for the next little while (i.e. no plane flights), I thought it might help my sanity to take extended rides on the weekend somewhere out of the Bay Area. But now I have to decide whether I should wait until it's been 1 full year since I got my full motorcycle license or not. I guess I should talk to an insurance agent if I can't get a good enough quote online. They're promising this Saturday to be nice, so it might be good to have insurance by that time.


Now reading: 2000 Essential Kanji. [I need to start reading real books again...]

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25