[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

research blues

2003-01-22 - 1:41 a.m.

I've been feeling really unfocused about my work. I'm just not sure what I should work on. There are a few interesting things on my plate, but each time I look at one of them, I realize that it's not a Ph.D. level project, and so I don't do it. Hence I don't make much progress at anything. I've been thinking of interesting/relevant security problems, and what I have discovered is that most of the ones I can think of have a seemingly great solution in the research. Except that no one uses it. And I have no idea how to change that. I could write some software, but that's not really research, and chances are no one would use it anyway. Perhaps I'm just being too cynical.

Oh well, time to go to sleep. Because tomorrow is another day...


Listening to: Factory Showroom by They Might Be Giants.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25