[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

the makings of a successful weekend

2003-01-19 - 4:47 p.m.

Argh! My browser crashed and I lost my diary entry. Let's see what I can reconstruct. My weekend so far can be summarized as follows: burrito, kittens, party, protest, bowling. I'll expand on the more interesting parts.

The party went well; lots of people were at my gf's house for her 30th birthday. Ian and I were trying to decide between two cakes, with each of us advocating a different one, but eventually we just got both; there were definitely enough people there to eat both of them. Ian was remarking how there were interesting people there who only got to see each other when he was in town. I have some friends like that in Toronto, although I've been a little proactive about getting them to keep in touch while I'm away. But keeping in touch is always hard...

The protest was largely similar to the one in October; there may have been more people there, but it's hard to tell. I read several conflicting news reports, and my guess is that in D.C., there were 30,000 people counted by the police within a small area, with a larger crowd outside that area. S.F. numbers aren't apparent at all. It was good to see a stronger focus in this protest on peace; after the last protest Jon Stewart quipped: "What do we want? A large number of unrelated political goals!" Perhaps it helps that this protest does not immediately preceed an election. I think it lends the protest some credibility as not being made up entirely out of extreme leftists. My favourite sign was probably: "If was is inevitable, start drafting SUV drivers now," although "Support our troops -- keep them at home," was also nice.

Bowling was fun; it made me think I should do it more often. My play improved a bit over three games, I actually bowled 117 my last game, which is more than my weight in kilograms... that's gotta count for something, right? I think the game is fun because, regardless of how inexperienced you are, you can get a strike every once in a while, and it's exciting. But maybe it's just fun because you get to hang out with your friends. Which is something this weekend had a lot of -- clearly a success.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25