[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

guess who's coming to town

2003-01-17 - 10:26 a.m.

Yesterday I picked up Ian from the airport. He's staying with us for a few days; it's really nice to see him, especially having missed him during my trip to Canada. We were driving from SF over to East Bay, stuck in traffic on the approach to the bridge. Ian decided to use his Zaurus PDA and a wireless network scanner tool to see what we could find. To my amazement, we started seeing a new network every few seconds. It really made me think about getting a Zaurus and a wireless card instead of a Treo for my wireless internet needs. I can always get a GPRS card for it later...

Last night, because both Ian and Sarah was in town, our weekly gathering had record attendance. We went to Barney's for dinner, and you should have seen the look on the hostesses' face when she read the clipboard: "party of 3.. party of 5... party of 2... Ian, party of 16." We actually had still more people show up, but eventually some of the latecomers had to sit by themselves. By the time we all gathered at J's place after dinner, there was around 35 people there. Busy busy. It was great to see everyone, even if I didn't get to talk to Ian and Sarah much. Well, at least Ian is staying with me, so not all is lost.

Today I've been convinced to have lunch at Juan's, home of the giant super burrito. After that, it's off to San Francisco to set up for my gf's 30th birthday party! It's going to be a busy weekend...

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25