[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

credit checks

2003-01-15 - 11:31 p.m.

Monday I was all excited -- I finally decided to order a treo. I've been excited about the treo for a while, and now handspring and t-mobile are having a promotion, so I figured it's a good time to succumb to my desire for a new toy. So I go online to order it, and then came the dreaded... credit check.

Now, it's not that I have bad credit, it's that I have no credit history. I had a credit record in Canada, but when I moved to the US, it seems to have become irrelevant. The thing that amazes me is that I've managed to live in this country for over 4 years, and not accumulated enough credit history to satisfy even a cell phone provider. I mean, I've even had cell service all these years.


On the mailing list of my friends, we've been having some heated political debate. What I find funny about the whole thing is how everyone in politics seems to have their own special soapbox. Someone will post a message, then someone else will respond, which, in essence, says: "i don't think you're quite right, and this reminds me of another issue I'm really emotional about." I guess this may explain why all the bills in the US have totally unrelated riders (speaking of bankruptcy reform, we should really raise penalties for selling amphetamines).


My sleep schedule, in another strange turn of events, has done a total 180. Now I go to sleep early and wake up late. Perhaps because I seem to be having interesting dreams. Not all of them good, though. This morning, I was having a very stereotypical bad dream, where I was having trouble writing this exam, while wearing only my underwear in public, and probably late for a plane flight or whatnot. I don't remember it exactly, but it definitely had a number of those elements. Nonetheless, it seemed... engaging. But tomorrow I have to drive my gf to CalTrain bright and early, so no sleeping in for me...


Now reading: Video Girl Ai, a Japanese comic. I'm actually having some marginal success understanding the story, perhaps because I know most of it already.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25