[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

film & fungus

2003-01-12 - 10:40 p.m.

Well, this was a fun weekend. Friday night we went to see "Adaptation," which met my expectations of being a good movie. I'm still not sure whether I like it better than "Being John Malkovich." I like the idea better, but it feels a bit more rough around the edges.

Saturday I had big plans -- clean up my room, and go out dancing. Well, big plans are always doomed to fail. I seemed to successfully waste most of the day, accomplishing only a bit of shopping. I did manage to finally hook up with Len, he wasn't up for going out, but he rented a few movies, so we watched "Ghost Dog: The Way of the Samurai." It was pretty slow and I didn't manage to stay awake through the whole thing, but I don't think I liked it. I'm still getting really sleepy around 10 p.m., despite sleeping in until 11 or so. Anyway, I was too tired to do anything, certainly too tired to go dancing.

This morning we were up bright and early (for a Sunday) to go on a mushroom hunting hike around Mt. Tam. Our hunting was mostly of the photographic nature, but we did pick a few mushrooms to examine them closer. Our mycologist friend (who inspired this whole trip) said it was ok. So it's funny, I was on the fence about whether I wanted to go at all, but this ended up being by far the best part of the weekend, even if we did get completely wet on the way back to the car (we looked so miserable, someone took pity on us when we were about halfway and gave us a ride; we felt much obliged). I've forgotten just how nice that area is for hiking -- beautiful nature, pretty creeks and brooks, no city noises, and the fresh forest smells. And some of the mushrooms were quite pretty. Of course, it never hurts to hang out with fun people, either.

Time to go to sleep; tomorrow I go to work for real.


Now listening to: City of Light, by Bill Laswell.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25