[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

i was home for Christmas

2002-12-27 - 12:28 a.m.

I'm back from the Internet wasteland that is Ottawa. Okay, I'm giving it a bad rap; the real problem is that my mother's house lacks an Internet connection, and I was getting really anxious without it. It's not so much that I'm so horribly addicted (okay, I am), but I think that being away from most of my friends, not being able to send or receive email feels very isolating. I was itching to get back to Toronto so I took a ride back with my sister today. I probably should have stayed -- could have gone out to dinner with some friends, instead of watching "8 mile" by myself (it was either that or watch "Home Alone 2" at my sister's house). But it's nice to feel plugged in again.

My birthday was uneventful; I haven't really had a nice birthday since '99, which was when I had a party for my birthday (actually, I had two). Last year was alright, since I was spending christmas in Tokyo, but it wasn't much of a birthday celebration, just a fun trip. And I can't say I'm much fond of christmas. I don't know; I'm finding the whole gift-giving thing a little more objectionable than usual this year. I mean, I think if you like somebody and you find/make something you think they might like and you give it for them, I think it's great. But that's very different from navigating through hordes of shoppers at the mall desperately searching for something neutral, and finally getting something that will likely sit unused in some box for all eternity... just to show you care. Maybe I'm just too cynical about this whole thing.


Now reading: The Tao of Physics, by Fritjof Capra. I'm not sure how much I agree with the author or even like what he's saying, but there are some interesting observations thrown in here and there. I'll keep reading.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25