[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

8 days?

2002-12-21 - 1:27 p.m.

Well, turns out that Health Canada forbids the sale of melatonin, so my quest ended empty-handed. But nonetheless, I did manage to get a full night's sleep -- I didn't wake up for good until 9:30. I was so excited when I woke up, opened my eyes, and it was actually light outside! The jet lag literature I read suggested that it takes one day per time zone to recover, so I guess I was due.

Last night was spent hanging out with J. Both of our sleep schedules are screwed up, so instead of going to the ROM, we hung out at her house attempting to stay awake enough to maintain a conversation. But then we dragged ourselves, and J's friend from school, out to the Velvet Underground for some dancing. It was supposed to be packed, but I guess it was still early at 11pm (I am so unused to the clubbing lifestyle!), and didn't get going until after midnight. They played a few good songs, and we even danced for a bit, but most of it was too grungy for our tastes. We tried to find another club, but the only place with decent music we happened upon had a $15 cover... so after a long wait for the streetcar in the cold, we finally made it back and I crashed on J's couch....

Now I'm back at my sister's, showered and clean, even with fresh laundry. My body rhythm is still a little off and I'm feeling a bit sleepy, but I think I can make it until tonight. I'm even more motivated to go out dancing tonight to some nice music, but I need to scare up some interest and a location... oh yeah, and more coffee. :)


Now reading: Around the World Single-Handed, by Harry Pidgeon. Probably my last book on this topic; I need to finish it and return it to Gavin.

Now listening to: Energy 52 - Cafe del Mar

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25