[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

travel stress

2002-12-18 - 8:08 p.m.

For some reason, I was in a bad mood today. Probably lack of sleep/caffeine, but still disquieting. I don't know, I was getting upset, though not overly so, at little things, like the flight attendant insisting that we stop talking and put down reading materials and listen to the stupid safety video. I still think it's unreasonable (the putting down reading materials part), but hardly worth getting upset over. I think I'm finding travelling stressful again, which is unfortunate, since I tend to travel a lot. I used to be able to have a detached calm about all these things, but now I seem to be under the influence of contageous traveller nervousness... I should really follow the suggestion from my book and try to have a more positive attitude.

In any case, no more flying for three weeks, and after that I expect to be "grounded" for several months, trying to force myself to focus on my thesis. I'm feeling totally exhausted right now, so perhaps if I go to bed now, I can conquer this jetlag daemon for good...


Now reading: Evolution of Consciousness, by Robert Ornstein.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25