[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

chaotic sleep schedule

2002-12-17 - 5:32 p.m.

Okay, you try to get anything done when you're awake at random times of the day, most of them after dark. Okay, I have managed to catch up on most of my email, and I even made a small dent on sorting through my 1250 pictures from Australia (that's 34 rolls of film's worth; thank god for digital). But other than that, and watching a few DVDs (and their commentary tracks), not much else. I haven't even managed to keep myself well-fed, which, as my waistline can attest, is something I'm usually pretty good at.

And tomorrow I'm adding another three hours to the jet lag. Yesterday, after random naps throughout the day and finally waking up after 4pm, I thought I'd try to wrap around. You know, get some dinner, grab some coffee, stay up until my 8am doctor's appointment (what was I thinking?) and then go to sleep. But by the time I finished dinner (== lunch), all the neighbourhood coffee shops had closed, and I of course had no coffee in my house -- you don't really buy groceries when you plan to be away for two months. So I dozed off around 5, only to get up again around 7. I couldn't really stay awake enough to make it through the day, so I made it home and slept some more from 10 till 2. Crazy.

Well, I should be off to make a couple of printouts, head home, pack, then head to the city and have dinner (lunch)? with my gf. Then it's off to another plane and another country...


Reporter: Where are you from?
Russell: Canada.
Reporter: So, would you say that Ceduna is about as different a place from Canada as you can get?
Russell: Not really...

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25