[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

back at home

2002-12-14 - 6:26 p.m.

My last couple of days in Sydney were more low-key, I guess. We climed the Harbour Bridge, or rather, the Pylon Lookout. From there we got to make fun of everyone else who paid $140+ instead of $5 to get a breathalyzer test, a metal detector scan, a funky jumpsuit and a (get this) simulated climb, before climbing the actual bridge. You know you should avoid giving money to a business that won an "enterpreneur of the year" award...

Then we took a bus to Coogee (probably pronounced "Coo-gee", but you can never be sure) and did the suggested walk along the "rugged coastline" (these words seem to be in every description of the area). It was pretty, the waves were huge, and I took some photos of the rocks and breaking waves. I think my gf would have enjoyed going there...

Thursday we took a ferry to Manly beach, walked around, got some sun, and watched the surfers. Based on my previous experiences with being on the water, I decided to take some dramamine, just to be on the safe side. And everything went fine, until the second half of the day, where I felt so tired I could barely stand. I tried drinking a second coffee, and only when that had no effect I realized that it must have been the drugs. Grr... but there wasn't much else that I wanted to do anyway, so I just stayed in bed and read the rest of the day.


I'm finally home, after a long ordeal. Tonight my gf and I are going to an anniversary dinner, although for me it will be more like an anniversary lunch -- I slept in until 1:30pm today. It sucks to travel east for those of us who are night people...


Now reading: Guns, Germs, and Steel. I finished Annapurna on the plane, it's actually one of my least favorite books in the last while. I guess I just didn't get the sense after Maurice Herzog's description that climbing that mountain was worthwhile...

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25