[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

mervyn's

2002-11-11 - 11:38 p.m.

Can you believe I spent a hundred dollars on clothes? I can't. I went to Mervyn's, which I had noticed had decent clothes at reasonable prices. And I stopped by their clearance bin. I found a half dozen of shirts that are in general nicer than the average shirt I wear, a nice pair of cargo pants, and a warm fuzzy fleece. Everything was so cheap -- most things were less than $10, with the fleece being the notable exception at $30. And I still paid just under $100. But I figure, I go shopping for clothes rarely enough that I can afford a crazy spree like that once in a while.

I think I'm starting to get really excited about my trip to Australia. Really, I should be scared -- I only have a week's time in which to finish anything I want to get done before I leave. And I want to submit a paper to a conference. But I'm excited, both about the trip, and actually, about my new toy about to arrive -- the camera. I was so excited, actually, that I tried to pick it up from UPS instead of having them deliver it to me tomorrow. But they insisted that I needed to get my officemate's authorization, since it's in his name. So one more day of waiting.

I guess what worries me is that basically starting next wednesday and ending January 7th (the day I'm likely to return from Christmas), I'm going to be out of the office, and my odds of getting useful work done are slim. And if I want to find a thesis topic by the end of next semester (a deadline that is always getting pushed back, it seems), it will be hard.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25