[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

high tech happiness

2002-11-08 - 7:06 p.m.

Last night we had some people over; to be more precise, we decided to be the hosts for the weekly gathering of our social group. When, 15 minutes after the appointed time, no one had showed up yet, I was a little disappointed. But seems I lost faith too early, as we ended up having over 10 people in total, and a lively evening altogether, discussing everything from election machines to the CybOrgasMatrix.

My sleep schedule is recovering from another stay at my gf's place. This time, her roommate's alarm went off at 6:00am, and stayed on for what must have been 15 minutes. Then she must have hit the snooze button, as it turned off for 10 minutes, only to come back on again ... and so on until around 7. Boy, was I tired when I got up. I'm making my gf come to East Bay to see me tonight. Fortunately, she doesn't teach class tomorrow, so she won't have to trek back in the morning.

I'm pretty excited about this portable radio I got. It's a little on the expensive side, but it's tiny-tiny, fits into my pants pocket, and lets me listen to NPR anywhere, like walking around, or doing the dishes at home. Of course, I christened it with listening to Bush's press-conference, which wasn't the most pleasant way of doing it, but it was still interesting and thought- (or anger-?) provoking.

I think that's been the reason I've been feeling better, happier -- having interesting stuff to think about. I'm actually starting an interesting project at work, and I'm learning a lot and making progress. At the same time, I'm reading interesting books, watching good TV shows, listening to NPR, and spending some time with my friends. Isn't that what life is all about?


Now reading: The Culture of Fear (just finished, actually)

abuse of prescription drugs [...] sends adolescents to emergency rooms more often than cocaine, heroin, marijuana, and LSD combined.
The Surgeon General had released studies showing that cigarettes addict 80 percent of people who try them for a length of time, while fewer than 33 percent of those who try crack become addicted.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25