[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

No sleep till Berkeley

2002-11-06 - 12:18 a.m.

I spent the weekend at my gf's and while I like her house, it's completely impossible to get enough sleep, between her own complicated sleep schedule, her roommates playing pool at 3 am or watching loud tv at 8 am, and the two dogs, it's impossible to get any sleep. I was still feeling exhausted today, even after having gotten enough sleep last night.

Saturday we saw "Punch-Drunk Love," which was surprisingly good. Or rather, it shouldn't have been surprising, since it was highly recommended by a friend, but I was almost ready to discount her advice when I learned that Adam Sandler played the lead. But I'm glad I didn't -- his performance was perfect for this part, and had much more depth than I expected. I'm trying to decide if this means that I should see "Magnolia".

Sunday we played tennis again, doing marginally better this time. For a while, some neighbourhood kids decided to play against us, which made it easier to keep the ball in play (with only half the court in use). It was good exercise , and I think it was partly responsible for my once again not having enough energy to make it back to East Bay on Sunday night. Seems to be a mistake, since it ends up throwing my Monday completely off -- I stayed home, napped, read, and got very little accomplished.

My gf and I have been shopping for a digital camera, and I think we finally settled on getting a Sony DSC-F717. It should be an exciting new toy; expensive, but we're splitting the cost two ways, making it a lot easier to swallow. It's funny, the reason we're buying it is because my gf, a big film proponent, wants to start playing around with digital. But after reading a bunch of info about the newest greatest digital cameras, I'm now tempted to get myself a 35mm SLR to play with. But we'll see whether I actually get into photography with this camera or not.

My bicycle is having problems again. Somehow, the second gear hub got bent way out of shape, so I can only use it in third (no good for going up the hill). It must have suffered from the fall I took earlier, but I don't understand how it was doing fine up until now. So it's back to taking BART for me until I get it fixed again. I have too many non-functioning vehicles!


Now reading: The Culture of Fear

Wade Horn, president of the National Fatherhood Initiative [...]: "Growing up without a father is like being in a car with a drunk driver."

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25