[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

dancing and diving

2002-10-18 - 4:19 p.m.

I'm avoiding work; not having coffee in the morning is definitely a detriment to my overall enthusiasm. But if I have some now, I won't get to sleep until much too late, and I have to wake up around 5:30 tomorrow. Rock and a hard place.

So I'm catching up on some news, and the Eldred v. Ashcroft case about retroactive copyright extensions. It was actually enlightening to read the respondent brief from the government. My previous position was that there was no credible reason for retroactive extension of rights other than more profit for megacorps like disney. But the government presented a reasonable argument; I'm not sure I agree with it, but it's always interesting that there do exist non-evil justifications for such laws.

I went diving yesterday -- my first of three sessions to get certified. I ended up getting private lessons, because no one else signed up for the course. Good deal. And then I went dancing with my friends at 1984. Happiness is dancing to my favourite songs in a crowd full of people having fun. I felt cold, tired, and consequently antisocial when I got in; diving took a fair bit of energy, and the 45 min high-speed bike ride afterwards was cooold. But after an hour or so, I was bouncing around, smiling, and generally having fun.

Is it a mark of an introvert that it's hard for me to talk to people and be friendly when I'm tired? Or does everyone close up that way? I just find it harder to smile at people, be interested in what they're saying, and maintain a conversation. It feels so easy and natural to do it some times, and so impossibly hard other times.


Now reading: The Venturesome Voyages of Captain Voss

On seeing the land, my mate got so excited that he threw his hat up in the air, and gave three cheers for old Canada. Unfortunately, the hat went overboard, and I had to tack ship to pick it up.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25