[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

best day

2002-10-09 - 10:23 p.m.

I don't know why, but I'm feeling excited. Not just content, or even happy, but excited. Maybe it's the wine. Maybe it's the wonderful dinner that my friend -- a friend with strange habits and political views, but a good friend -- made for me tonight. Or maybe it's the book I'm reading. But my spirits are up once again.

The mind is a strange thing... when the subway train arrived at Finch station, I looked up and saw that we had arrived already, and wanted to jump up and down with joy. And really, I wasn't that impatient about getting home or excited about the short amount of time it took to get there; I'm just happy, and willing to transfer it to any object. Ah, emotions are such a coarse-grained way to understand the world...

The dinner was amazing -- I'm not sure I had ever had a tastier serving of lamb. Certainly it was miles better than the overpriced lamb at the restaurant on Monday. An ample supply of wine, including a Masi, quickly becoming a favourite of mine, and a perfectly done sweet-yet-tart apple pie.

We stayed up late, later than we should have, talking of jobs and stocks and taxes and churches. My friend likes to talk and I let him talk about things he's interested in. He's knowledgeable and opinionated, so it's always interested to hear him speak. At the end of the visit, we discussed something we're both actually interested in -- sailing. But eventually it was time to go.

The day was spent with another friend, who is one of my favourite people in this world. She's almost reason enough for me to want to move to Toronto. We spent some time talking of life and politics and other interesting topics. Then we got onto lighter discussions... perhaps we were tired of finding intelligent things to say, or perhaps our blood sugar was busily devoted to digesting lunch. We flipped through "Elle" magazine and then spent some time looking at a silly cult-ish website, whose name escapes me. And I was feeling happy, just spending time with her, it didn't particularly matter how. There are a few people in this world who make me feel this way; why do they all live so far away? My fault, I guess.

So yeah, I guess I know why I'm excited. Today was the best day I've had in quite a while. If nothing else went well this trip, it would have been worth it nonetheless.


Reading: "Unholy Ghost: writers on depression"

I shouldn't have gone to graduate school, shouldn't have broken up with good guys, shouldn't have lied to my parents about how far along on my dissertation I was. -- Virginia Heffernan, A Delicious Placebo

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25