[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

fourty-five dollars??

2002-10-08 - 2:57 p.m.

I spent an hour yesterday wandering around The Bay, lamenting the lack of any such stores in the Bay Area (ironic as that may be). They had an abundance of nice looking clothes for not very much money.

Of course, they weren't all that exciting and I decided the thing to do would be to wander Queen West in search of something more "trendy", but I discovered that a: too many stores on Queen West cater to women only, and b: "trendy" clothes are expensive. So I came home empty-handed.

I almost decided to stay downtown until dinnertime, but as a side-effect of sleeping so long, I was a wandering zombie for most of the day.

My dinner plans ended up being with professional geeks. We ended up at a restaurant that seemed a bit on the expensive side, and spent all of dinner talking about problems dealing with annoying customers and broken hardware. When we received the bill, our jaws dropped, as the litre of house (i.e. cheap) wine we ordered ended up costing us $37, and the popular "lamb special", listed at $19 on the menu, was charged at $25 a pop. We got the latter straightened out, but it still ended up being around $50 a person. For a dinner of small portions and nice, but not excellent, food. Reminded me of a couple of anniversary date experiences...

Today I'm left with scheduling the precious remnants of my time in Toronto to split among three people. Which would be fine if they were free during the day, but I've run out of unemployed friends, it seems. I'm having to cut my scheduled time with my sister tomorrow short in order to go to dinner at my friend's house, but I did see her at lunchtime both today and yesterday, so I feel less bad about it. All my visits here are both too long and too short...

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25