[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

recovery

2002-10-02 - 11:08 a.m.

I managed to get sick over the weekend. Strangely enough, it was a very quick illness, with only about a 24-hour period where I was seriously ill. Of course, the timing was pessimal, as it coincided with the day we rented the truck and had to move most of my gf's stuff over to her new place in San Francisco. I really was feeling close to passing out a couple of times during the day.

But since then I've been feeling better. I was reminded, as I was scrambling up the stairs to catch the train to work this morning, that I'm not fully recovered yet. It took me most of the 6 minute train ride to regain my composure... and I'm not really *that* out of shape.


I spent pretty much all day yesterday reading about sailing. I'm starting to think seriously about picking up that hobby sometime next year. Unfortunately, it requires a lot of time and money. And I get seasick sometimes (although I'm told your body gets used to it after a while).

I no longer have the dream of buying my own boat and sailing around the world. There's just too much extended isolation involved, and I place a high value on human interaction (even if I'm an introvert). But the idea of chartering a yacht in the south pacific, or other remove locale, for a few weeks and just taking off with some friends certainly sounds appealing...

But with all this being sick and daydreaming of sailing, not much work has been getting done. And I have a meeting with my advisor at 3 today. Time to get to work...


Currently reading: President Kennedy: Profile of Power, by Richard Reeves.

"The day's gonna come when we're going to have the Congress and the president" -- their campaings -- "financed by the government.... It'll be the best thing that ever happened."

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25