[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

living the yuppy life

2002-09-24 - 6:56 p.m.

Once again, I feel glad about living in the Bay Area. Today, biking home from the office, I stopped off at cheeseboard pizza, and had a slice of gourmet pizza with cilantro, tomato, lemon zest, and other yummy ingridients, along with a glass of wine. A wonderful dinner for a cost of only $4.50.

Sunday was also a nice day. My girlfriend and I slept in, and while lounging on the couch in the morning, I suggested "let's play tennis today!" So we went out, bought some tennis balls and rackets, and went out to find a court. We quickly discovered that we are both really bad at tennis, but it was fun nonetheless and we played for over an hour.

In the afternoon, we wanted to do something else together, so we went to the San Francisco marina and watched the boats, kites, waves, and windsurfers, as we walked along the waterfront. It made me want to learn how to sail or windsurf. But one thing at a time -- next on my list is scuba diving.


Today I received some good news. I talked to one of the two readers for my master's thesis, and he said that he thought my thesis was in good shape, and he was pretty much ready to sign off on it. If my other reader feels the same way, I could be done with this thing in the next couple of weeks! I'm so excited -- I've had this thesis hanging over my head for all of the summer, but I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel. Of course, after this is done, it's time to worry about the rest of my graduate career.... but we'll see.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25