[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

from pain to fun, with lots of sugar

2002-09-20 - 12:51 a.m.

Well, today has certainly improved, starting with being in pain and feeling way too tired in the morning, to feeling hyper and happy in the evening.

The dentist took way too long (hour and a half), and I suspect that my dentist isn't very good at anesthesia. My lips and tongue felt numb for quite a while after the appointment, but I was still in pain during most of the drilling. Grr. And then, they tell me not to eat for the next while because I might bite my lip while it's numb. Tell that to someone who needs coffee and food!

Spent some time today writing a review for a paper. I panned it, as usual, but that's to be expected -- only 10-30% of papers will usually be accepted. It's funny, every time I read a paper, I know I want to reject it, but not until I finish the review do I feel I have a solid enough reason why.

We had dinner at a thai place, and then we got to the really fun part of the night, eating lots of sugar-laden desserts and playing Settlers of Catan. When I first heard of settlers, I didn't think I would enjoy it. But it really is a lot of fun, especially if you're not playing with annoyingly competitive people.

I was still too hyper from all the sugar that I ate. I was actually pacing the room when I got home. But I think I will crash soon. I just hope that all this sugar won't lead to more dental work!

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25