[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

a night of dancing

2002-09-13 - 2:20 a.m.

I had trouble sleeping last night, even got up at 4 am to watch tv for an hour. So I ended up getting up at around noon. I must do something about this crazy sleep schedule.

Anyway, getting into work pretty late, I didn't get as much done as I would have liked. I did read a paper for review; I didn't like it (as always), and now I'm searching for a reason to pan it. I had to leave at 6 to have dinner with my friends and then...

off to the city for an evening of dancing & fun. "Gus Gus" were in town; I can't say they're my favourite band, perhaps not even my favourite band from Iceland, but I've seen them in concert, and it was fun. Kind of like a dance party. And the opening act was pleasant for once -- "Balligomingo". Two girls & a synthesizer trying to be Enigma and Delerium at the same time.

The show was over by 11, and so I headed over to the DNA lounge. And there things really picked up. I think I forget how much I enjoy dancing to techno music, otherwise I would do it more often. I was noticing even as I got home that I was just feeling... good. Wonderful effect, this dancing thing.

Oh, tonight also marked my first attempt at a real evening out on my motorcycle. And it worked out pretty well. I did have to take a little time to remove my overpants & check them or hide them somewhere, but it seems like nothing compared to the hassles of trying to find a parking spot in SF. So it's settled -- time to sell my car.

But more immediately, time to finish off my "dinner" of a boiled egg and go to bed.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25