[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

political quotes

2002-09-12 - 1:26 a.m.

Over the last couple of days, I've seen a couple of quotes I wanted to share. Unfortunately, I've been thinking about politics quite a bit this last while, and so most of them are political.

From NYTimes article about problems in the Florida elections:

Of Ms. Reno's troubles at her precinct Tuesday morning, Mr. [Gov. Jeb] Bush said: "What is it with Democrats having a hard time voting? I don't know."

The next two are from the book I'm reading -- "President Kennedy: A Profile of Power".

Kennedy received another cable, this one from a U.S. military adviser reporting back from Nam Tha [Laos]: "The morale of my battalion is substantially better than in our last engagement. The last time, they dropped their weapons and ran. This time, they took their weapons with them."
Robert Kennedy was a suspcicious man. He had asked the FBI to examine wine sent as a gift to President Kennedy from Premier Kruschev to check for poison or personality-altering drugs. "No drugs or poisons were identified," reported the FBI lab. "The wine was consumed in the examination."

Well, we went out to meet my gf's potential new roommate, and she seemed really nice. Not only is my gf excited about moving into this place, I'm excited, too. So this might just all work out.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25