[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

start spreading the news

2003-01-07 - 10:58 a.m.

Well, in a few hours I'll be on a plane to sunny california. It's definitely time to go home -- I have been there for only about two nights out of the last month and a half. I miss my house, I miss my bed, I miss the weather... and I miss my gf, of course. She's picking me up tonight from the airport. I hadn't realized it until recently, but this is actually the longest we've ever been apart since we met -- three weeks. I've been away from home for longer, but usually she travels with me at least part of the way. Well, it will be nice to be back.

I was talking to my sister last night, and I think this was a nice vacation. Other than perhaps the stress over the rental car. But it had a different feel -- instead of rushing to see everybody, I was more relaxed, spending some time at my sister's and then making plans opportunistically with whoever I can get in touch with. I certainly missed visiting some people, but probably got more rest; I don't really feel like I need to take a few days off to recover, as I usually do. And I did see almost everybody I planned to see, if only briefly.

The other thing I really enjoyed about this vacation was watching movies. I hadn't seen very many this year, in part because I had been very disappointed by a lot of the hollywood crap that I saw. So I found it surprising that I enjoyed most of the movies I saw, including hollywood crap such as "Two Weeks Notice" and the new bond movie. I mean, sure, they were both pretty bad films, but there were certain good elements that made them enjoyable to watch. And I also saw ones that were genuinely good, like "Catch Me If You Can" and "Spirited Away" (on DVD). Perhaps I'll make use of my gf's netflix subscription when I get back.

Well, time to pack, do some book shopping, and then I'm off.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25