[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

jury duty

2002-12-28 - 10:22 p.m.

BTW, while I was in Australia I got a notice in the mail that I was summoned for jury duty. I found it funny, since I can't serve on a jury, being not a citizen. So I marked off a box saying I'm ineligible and sent it back to them. Now my gf tells me I got a postcard from them requiring that I send them a copy of my passport. But the best part about the postcard is that it's addressed to "Dear Citizen." I guess they really don't believe me.

My gf is all worried about getting my response back in time before my appearance date (day after I get back to Berkeley). I'm a little less worried; I mean, what are they going to do, arrest me for refusing to serve on a jury when I'm ineligible? I really think the burden of proof should be on them in this case....

In Canada, I know almost no one who's ever been asked for jury duty. In the US, almost everyone I know has, even those who are ineligible.


I kind of want to track down the source of this quote, which comes from Moby:

80% of u.s.d.a. chicken inspectors no longer eat chicken.

It seems like an interesting fact, but I don't really feel like perpetuating it without having a good reference. Certainly makes me more interested in becoming a vegetarian, though.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25