[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

progress

2002-10-29 - 8:54 p.m.

I finally went to see a doctor about stomach pains I've been having. She told me that the problem is likely a thin spot in my stomach lining that's being bothered. She told me to eat frequent meals (fine by me), avoid spicy foods (can do), and stop drinking coffee (never!). She also prescribed me Zantac, or rather the generic equivalent; this is yet another american drug advertising-inspired experience, where I get to learn the function of a drug I've seen advertized everywhere.

I even made some progress on a project at work. Granted, it's not clear how or whether this project can help my build a Ph.D. thesis, but it's better than nothing. I think I'm still depressed about my career and other things, though. From an email to my ex-girlfriend:

I've been kind of depressed about my life lately, with crazy mood swings between feeling happy/content and feeling depressed and cynical. What bothers me is that it feels like I'm only happy when I forget about the things that are wrong, as opposed to being sad only when I forget the things that are right. And although most of the things that I'm depressed about are within my power to change, I can't seem to make much headway towards changing them.

I managed to run out of money before my next paycheck (Friday), so I've been having to cook at home. Today, I'm trying a nice baked marinated salmon. Except that due to my "more frequent" meal schedule, I haven't been hungry since I got home and had a snack. I guess a late dinner won't be so bad. And since it's my sister's birthday, I have the occasion to crack open a bottle of wine (despite that being not recommended either, but hey, you've got to live).

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25