[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

desperation and hope

2002-10-28 - 2:49 p.m.

I was riding the train today and as we were pulling up to my station, I felt a wave of depression. The book I was reading talked about the future being dark, and my own thoughts turned seemed to echo this belief. I had this feeling that nothing good has happened this decade, that I had been viewing everything in a detached daze as the world was slowly going to hell. The apocalypse that we all feared would come in Y2K was indeed arriving, just much more gradually than expected.

And then I tried to prove myself wrong, thinking of all the good things that have happened since the date started having a '2' in the beginning. And you know what two examples came to mind? My trip to Africa, and my ex-girlfriend's wedding. Everything else I could think of did not seem as good -- even though I remember being happy other times, those events seem somehow empty, unreal in retrospect. But those two seem immune to my cynical hindsight interpretation.


Now reading: Girlfriend in a Coma, by Douglas Coupland.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25