[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

leaving town again

2002-10-04 - 9:25 p.m.

I'm flying to Toronto tomorrow. I'm not packed yet or anything, but hey, I've done this many times before, it shouldn't take long, right? My officemate asked me today if I was taking a vacation. And I stammered for a while, not sure how to answer. My plan is to make this into a work-trip, spending my days working, and evenings visiting friends & family. But I've made this plan before, and usually not much work got done. Maybe this time it will be different. I really need to finish my master's thesis soon, so I can move on to other things.

I was at the book store near my house today (barnes & noble), and the clerk there recognized me! Last time I was in, he tried to convince me to get their readers' club card, and today he was following up. Now, I'm always excited when a service industry person recognizes me, but this is doubly exciting, as I had a lot of trouble getting back into reading for the last, oh, 10 years. Between moving to an English-speaking country with many TV channels and getting involved with computers and the Internet, I had stopped reading almost completely -- one or two books a year.

But sometime this summer, I started getting addicted to it. Now I come into a barnes and nobld and I feel like a kid in a candystore! So many books to read, so little time. I'm still not reading quite as much as I'd like (1-2 books a month), but at least it's more regular. Yay!

I'm in a good mood today. Maybe it's the music, maybe it's the anticipation of going to Canada, maybe it's the minimal exercise I got, but I just feel good.


Listening to: "Mink Car", They Might Be Giants.

They revamped the airport completely, it looks just like a nightclub, everyone's excited and confused.

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25