[ latest | older | notes | email | diaryland ]

hangover weekend

2002-08-19 - 3:02 p.m.

My trip to Waterloo was nice, except that due to what I thought was a hangover, I felt quite unwell on the car ride down. But once we were out of the car and I had some Indian food in me, things started looking up. Then we saw "Cherish", which my friend Dan had described as a director's debut romantic comedy starring Tim Blake Nelson, aka the short guy from "O Brother, Where Art Thou?" And it was an amazingly good film; it's probably one of the better ones I've seen this year. It reminded me a bit of "Amelie", although in many ways they're very different.

We eventually made it back to Dan's new house, and I got close to nine hours of sleep, albeit with only a sleeping bag separating me from a hardwood floor. But it was still the best and longest sleep I'd had in a week. Nonetheless, the ride back to Toronto didn't feel much better than the way there. A hangover can't really last that long, can it?

I made my way to the BBQ at Shar's house on the TTC, and arrived thoroughly depressed. My roommates were fighting, my school work wasn't progressing well, and I felt a bit disconnected from my friends. To this point, I can't tell whether I was depressed because I wasn't feeling well, or whether I wasn't feeling well because I was depressed. But causality is just an unproven theory anyway, right?

Anyway, I was debating whether it was a good idea to drink when you're depressed, but the cold beer in the fridge made my decision for me, and after having a couple on an empty stomach, I was feeling a whole lot better. It's amazing what a small dose of chemicals can do to your mood. The BBQ turned into a late-night party, suprising for a Sunday night, and it went really well. Lots of friends, good music, good food. I felt the best I had felt all weekend.

As a bonus, I managed to drink lots of water before going to bed, so I woke up today without a hangover. After a short run in the rain, we went to a sushi buffet for lunch. I don't know who came up with a sushi buffet, but it's such a good idea! For the first time in my life, I left a sushi restaurant feeling full, and very happy. And all it cost was $9 Canadian! I need to find a place like that back home.

My sister drove me to the airport and now I'm typing this in the executive class lounge, watching my batteries run out. Time to catch my flight, head home, and see what new adventures await me there, I guess. But not before stealing some more free cashews!

leave a comment

previous - next

end and beginning - 2003-03-04
the dogs must be crazy - 2003-03-03
strange thoughts on a train - 2003-02-28
movie madness - 2003-02-26
sense of community - 2003-02-25